top of page
Anchor 1

Contempt Plea in SC against CEC and Bihar Election Officer

  • In the Supreme Court, a petition for contempt was filed against Chief Electoral Commissioner (CEC), Sunil Arora and the Chief Electoral Officer of Bihar, HR Srinivasa and office bearers of different political parties for failure to disclose reports of pending criminal proceedings against candidates contested in the recent elections to the Bihar Assembly.

  • Delhi-based lawyer Brajesh Singh's petition argued that there was non-compliance with the February 2020 ruling of the high court in which the court required all political parties to post information of pending criminal proceedings against candidates contesting elections on their website, observing that there was a disturbing spike in the criminalization of politics.

  • In addition to Arora and Srinivasa, KC Tyagi (General Secretary of Janta Dal United), Jagdanand Singh (President of Rashtriya Janta Dal, Bihar State), Abdul Khalik (Lok Janshakti Party), Randeep Singh Surjewalaaa Party, and Abdul Khalik (Lok Janshakti Party),Randeep Singh Surjewala (General secretary of All India Congress Committee) and BL Santosh, (National General Secretary of BJP).


Subscribe to us