top of page
Anchor 1

Bypolls 2021: Setbacks for BJP in Himachal; Congress wins assembly seats

  • As results for 29 assembly seats and 3 Lok Sabha seats was announced today, BJP although making gains in the north-east states, but it has received a setback in Haryana and Himachal Pradesh.

  • Congress won the three assembly seats in Himachal Pradesh: Fatehpur, Jubbal-Kotkhai and Arki. In Haryana, INLD'S Abhay Chautala has a comfortable lead, far ahead of the BJP's Gobind Kanda.

  • The assembly Bypolls were conducted across West Bengal, Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya, Bihar, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Haryana, Maharashtra.

  • Out of the 29 Assembly seats, the BJP had won in around half a dozen constituencies earlier, the Congress had nine, while the rest were with the regional parties.