BREAKING: Assam, Meghalaya sign agreement to resolve dispute

  • In a breakthrough agreement, Assam and Meghalaya resolved their 50 year old border dispute today in six of the 12 sectors along their 885-km boundary.

  • Assam CM Hemanta Biswa Sarma and Meghalaya CM Conrad Sangma signed a historic agreement on Tuesday which formally marked the end of the border dispute between the two states. The pact was signed in the presence of Home Minister Amit Shah in New Delhi.

  • The two States had in June 2021 adopted a “give-and-take” policy to start the process of resolving the boundary dispute by constituting three regional committees each.

  • The six disputed sectors were Tarabari, Gizang, Hahim, Boklapara, Khanapara-Pillangkata and Ratacherra under the Kamrup, Kamrup (Metro) and Cachar districts of Assam and the West Khasi Hills, Ri-Bhoi and East Jaintia Hills districts of Meghalaya.


Subscribe to us

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook




the breif bulletin logo