top of page
Anchor 1

BJP's Kamal Gupta, JJP's Devender Singh Babli Sworn in as Ministers as Haryana Cabinet Expands

  • On Tuesday, Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar added two MLAs from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Jannayak Janta Party (JJP) (JJP). The BJP's Hisar MLA Kamal Gupta and the JJP's Devender Singh Babli, who represents Tohana in the Assembly, were welcomed into the Khattar cabinet in the second enlargement in two years.

  • Governor Bandaru Dattatreya gave the oath at a ceremony held at the Haryana Raj Bhavan here. Gupta took his oath in Sanskrit and Babli in Hindi.

  • Among those in attendance were Khattar and Deputy Chief Minister Dushyant Chautala. With the addition of the two MLAs, the Haryana council of ministers now has a total of 14 members, including the chief minister, which is the maximum number allowed.