BJP gets boycotted by voters in the urban local body elections; Congress makes big gains

  • Congress Party made a historic win, as it swept the electoral results of seven municipal corporations in the state local body.

  • The party bagged all the bodies for which the results were declared today: Moga, Hoshiarpur, Kapurthala, Abohar, Pathankot, Batala, and Bathinda.

  • BJP failed to open its account as anger continues to mount among the voters. Akali Dal, which parted its way with BJP in October lost its home ground Bathinda. Congress emerged as a winner in Bathinda after 53 years.

  • Up to 9,222 candidates are in the fray overall. Of these, independents form the biggest chunk with 2,832; the Congress has the largest number of contestants among the official parties at 2,037. Notably BJP has fielded only 1,003 candidates.


Subscribe to us

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook




the breif bulletin logo