BIG: Kharge in as the new Congress President

  • What: Mallikarjun Kharge was elected as the new Congress president after he secured 7,897 out of the 9,385 votes polled.

  • Elections: Kharge was given competition by Shashi Tharoor, who secured 1,072 votes.

  • Additional Information: Kharge (80) is the first non-Gandhi leader after 24 years to occupy the party’s top post.

  • Tharoor's statement: It is a great honour and a huge responsibility to be President of the Indian National Congress and I wish Mallikarjun Kharge all success in that task. It was a privilege to have received the support of over a thousand colleagues, and to carry the hopes and aspirations of so many well-wishers of Congress across India."


Subscribe to us

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook




the breif bulletin logo