A 'Record' of 60% Goa MLAs Switched Parties in Last Five Years: ADR Report

  • According to a survey by an organization, 24 legislators in Goa have switched parties in the last five years, accounting for 60% of the overall strength of the 40-member state Assembly. According to the Association of Democratic Reforms (ADR), Goa has set a record that is "unparalleled" in the history of Indian democracy with this. On February 14, Goa will hold its assembly elections.

  • ”In the five year tenure of the current Assembly (2017-2022), as many as 24 MLAs have changed their parties, which is 60 per cent of the total strength of the House. It has never happened anywhere else in India. A clear reflection of utter disrespect to the mandate of voters. A callous approach to ethics and discipline overborne by uncontrolled greed at its worst,” the report stated

  • The names of Vishwajit Rane, Subhash Shirodkar, and Dayanand Sopte, who resigned as Congress MLAs in 2017 and joined the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) before contesting elections on its tickets, are not included in the list of 24 MLAs, according to the statement.


Subscribe to us

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook




the breif bulletin logo